Chapter 1: Infants are here!

Yes, I know I’ve promised a million times not to start more challenges until I finish what I already have… And I am again breaking that promise lol at this point nobody’s surprised, I know!

Listen, I wanted something to play around with while the first bugfixes for the new pack and updates for mods were done, and I really, really need to start learning how Infants work since they’re definitely making things difficult for me in my other saves and I thank them for it! I love having a new challenge! Soooo I decided to start a new save, at first it was just to test things and stuff. but then I realized I was really liking my MS and I had the screenshots anyways because I’ve gotten used to take them as I play lol so… 100 babies challenge anyone?

Am I crazy for starting this challenge from everything I could be doing? 100% yes! Probably no more crazy than I am for starting a new blog in the first place lol but I think I’m just a sims masochist. My previous attempt at the 100 babies challenge saddly ended up not being completed because I lost the spark for it around baby…39 I think lol like, so much stuff was added to the game, and at that point I had gotten so good at the challenge it really didn’t feel like a challenge at all anymore, so I ended up deciding to leave it at that.

This time tho, we have a whole new stage to get used to, plus a lot of packs I haven’t even tried before, and I also need to get used to the new family dynamics and lifespan lenghts, so I think I’m gonna be able to keep focus a liiiitle more! Don’t quote me on that tho lol.

Anyways, enough ramblings and random stuff for now, I think, better let’s get started with the fun part!

Meet our first Matriarch for the challenge: Gaia Garden! You know, ‘cuz the theme is gonna be plants and flowers and Gaia es the name usually given to Mother Earth lol.

Gaia: “Hello there, dear readers! I hope you’re ready to have a good time watching me and Salem suffer trying to take care of a little army of babies!”

As you may be able to guess by that very enthusiastic introduction, our little Gaia here is a Cheerful sim. I hope that helps her stay strong as we descend into madness with the kids lol. Her other traits are Active and Perfectionist. All of her traits, as well as her looks (except the red hair, I just really liked her as a redhead lol) were randomized in CAS, I think we got a very good lot.

And this is Gaia’s starter home. At first I was gonna plop her in San Sequoia since the whole reason of doing this is the new pack, but I also had bought Eco Lifestyle last november and hadn’t had a chance to live in Evergreen Harbor. And since everyone is living in San Sequoia right now in gameplays and stuff, I wanted to try something else lol. Also I didn’t really felt like building at a time, so we took the starter home at Grim Quarry.

I sold the second bedroom’s furniture since we’re not gonna need it for some time, and with it and the leftover money from the house I bought Gaia the best bed we could afford. Beds are always my priority when it comes to Sims needs lol I get extremely cranky when I don’t get good sleep, so I want to avoid that for them as much as possible.

The only other thing we bought was an easel since Gaia has the painting aspiration (yeah, should’ve gone with gardening, but I know we’re gonna need money lol she can have a real garden later, once we’re not broke! At least not this broke).

Gaia tries her hand at her first painting and, as you can see, she’s not super good at it, and she’s not happy lol. But hey, everyone has to start somewhere, and at least she hadn’t gotten the ‘dislikes painting’ pop up so far!

Gaia: “That’s the spirit! And I’m supposed to be the Cheerful one!”

Honestly I’m very surprised I’m being this optimistic lol I guess I really missed playing my Sims.

Anyways, going back to the important part of the challenge: Mortimer and Knox pass by the house and become the first donor candidates for the day!

While I adore Mortimer and the Goths… Knox gets a little edge on this decision because he’s a townie I’ve never had kids with, so I think he’ll be perfect to start the challenge!

Aaaaand he immediatly rejected Gaia’s flirting… damn, this is not looking good lol.

Gaia: “Maybe going for the kill five minutes after meeting him wasn’t a good idea. We should try to give him some time?”

You’re way too optimistic to me lol but yeah, makes sence. Let’s ignore that quickness is very important in this challenge since we need as many babies as possible lol,

So we left Knox go and instead took care of Gaia’s need, including her need to go excercise since she’s Active. A quick jog around her new neighborhood and she was happy as a clam.

And then Knox came back while Gaia was having dinner, so we picked up wher we had left earlier. He was a lot more receptive this time around!

For some reason they decided to move the fllirting outside, by the trashcan lol I guess nothing as romantic as kissing by the trascan while it’s too dark to take pictures?

But anyways, I’m happy it worked.

Also Gaia decided that she also likes to be a little bit flirty and romantic, the perfect trait to work on this challenge!

Anyways, the pair finally made it to the bed, and it was baby time!

Literally as soon as the finished, Knox fled the scene though lol this boy is veeeery hot and cold with us so far! I wonder what happened!

Gaia: “Hey, at least we probably got that baby done. That’s the important part.”

Yeah, yeah. Better go check if there really is a bun in the oven or we’re gonna have to call him back lol.

Aaaand looks like Knox did her job well! We have a baby incoming!

Now that we took care of the more pressing matters of the challenge, Gaia gets back to the easel to try and earn us some money. She actually lost money with the first picture she did, but now she’s slowly earning us some simoleons~

A little later that night we got this notification lol maybe Knox left in such a hurry because apparently it was his wedding tonight? I hope we didn’t cause a rift between him and his wife!

Gaia: “Well, they got married. So I guess they’ll be fine. And it’s not like I had plans to marry him, so it’s good that he found someone else.”

I mean, yeah, that makes sence. Good for Knox!

Gaia: “And I got what I wanted too! I have my baby!”

True, true. A very good start for our challenge indeed.

First milestone of the aspiration completed! I usually play this challenge changing aspirations as I go, but I was a little distracted during this playsession lol.

Next morning I decided to take a little trip to the Recreational Center at San Sequoia to see how it is. And also so Gaia could use the gym. So far her Active trait isn’t getting too annoying to manage, but it’s probably gonna get harder once we have babies in the house.

Also, hey! Adults get milestones too, that’s so cool! They really are a lot like Sims2 memories, that was one of my favorite things in the sims2 game!

Also, I just fell in love with this little sheep stoll! I want one IRL, where can I get it?!

Don’t you guys love when I say I wanna learn to not get too carried away with pictures for my updates, and then I get talking about stuff like a little chair I liked? lol

Anyways. Gaia finally chose her next donor: Geoffrey Landgraab and her happened to hit it off great. According to the game they have great chemistry, so yay! Geoffrey left a little later with a promise of a call once Gaia’s first baby is born.

and then Gaia moved downstairs and took advantage of the free food that someone kept leaving around lol seriously, look at all those forgotten dishes! and there were even more around the grill lol. Saddly the game didn’t let me take them home since “I don’t own this item”, but at least we could eat a serving to save a little money.

the rest of Gaia’s pregnancy was spent like this: painting, and also knitting. I want her to be able to eventually make the baby onesies since at this point I didn’t knew they actually added more options on baby clothing with the update lol but hey, you guys know how much I love knitted clothing anyways.

A couple hours before the baby’s arrival found Gaia at the museum for tier 3 of her aspiration. Yup. tier 3 already! She’s doing pretty great so far, but I know things will get harder once she has to take care of the kids too lol.

She also did her best to meet some more future donors, but we didn’t have much luck honestly lol I think I need to rework my sims social abilities, I’ve been out of it for too long.

Thankfully, the labor notification rescued us from the awkward encounters Gaia was having, so time to go to the hospital!

I tried to do that thing were you take the dad with you to the hospital to see the preparental panic, but Knox didn’t panic… he just disapeared as soon as the hospital loaded… it was very cold of him lol.

Gaia: “Now I’m very happy I wasn’t gonna marry him in the first place.”

Yup, not the best thing to get in his resume for future legacies (? but who knows, maybe he’ll get better once the kid is older.

Gaia: “Now who’s too optimistic? Also we can’t actually ask him for help!”

True, true… I’m still scared about having infants with no other sims to help out lol.

But I guess I’ll have to get over my fear, because this baby wasn’t gonna wait forever, and so Gaia gave birth to a little boy!

As said before the naming theme for this challenge is gonna be plants, flowers and things that grow in gardens, and so, we decided to name him Aspen, after the especies of trees, I think it’s a pretty name. And also I was talking to a friend about the character called Aspen from the book saga The Selection…and how neither of us like himat all lol so I decided I wanted to redeem the name with this baby.

I noticed Gaia had an immediate sentiment for Aspen and when I checked I saw this and died of cuteness at the name ❤ of course he is and has her whole heart ❤

Also, they didn’t gave us the usual common bassinet this time! I don’t hate that bassinet as much as other people, but I gotta armit this one is much more pretty lol.

Also, uncontrolables are definitely better at taking care of babies now. This gives me hope for my ISBI save lol I gotta get back into that one soon.

After dealing with Aspen’s needs, Gaia decided to invite Geoffrey over right away so we can get working on baby #2 ASAP~

Gaia: “We are sooo gonna regret this when they’re infants!”

We totally are, but hey, we gotta learn! And by we I mean I gotta lol.

Geoffrey continues to be very receptive to Gaia’s flirting, and they move to first kiss in no time~

Also I move baby Aspen to the room next door because I’m not comfortable with them woohooing with the baby in the room lol. As you can see, I also went ahead and bought a couple infant stuff so we start getting ready for tomorrow.

Oh, damn. Looks like we’re gonna need another round this time! Thankfully Geoffrey wasn’t like Knox, and stayed upstairs chilling on the bed while Gaia was taking the pregnancy test lol.

Geoffrey looks way too happy to go for another round lol I think he’s excited about the idea of having another kid since Malcolm is already a teen and all that, Geoffrey always strikes me as a guy who would want a big family but Nancy is not a fan of the idea.

Maybe his kid can move in with him once they grow up, we’ll see!

This time he did leave after the deed was done, so let’s hope second time was the charm! Gaia had to make a stop at the baby’s room because Aspen was feeling lonely, so we couldn’t stop him from leaving.

Looks like it wasn’t neccesary tho! Second baby incoming!

I mean, it’s nice of you to congratulate us Geoffrey, but you were here literally an hour ago lol you could’ve said it then!

Next morning, Gaia discovers yet another new trait that I think it’s gonna help her a lot with the challenge, so she’s now an Art Lover.

Since babies only stay babies for a day now, time to meet our first little infant!! *is extremely excited*

OMG they are so little and cute!!!!! Aspen rolled the trait Sunny! Not bad at all for my first Infant!

I randomly bought Gaia a rocking chair because it felt perfect for the kids room, and looks like she likes it ! Also, look at how cute they are together!

Somehow Aspen doesnt have either Gaia’s red hair, nor Knox’ brown hair. I wonder if it’s a “babies having a different haircolor than what will be their grown up tone” thing, or a bug like when mermaid kids wouldn’t get the correct genetics. I hope it’s the first one, Knox has such interesting genetics!

Gaia fed Aspen and then soothed him to sleep ❤ Guys I’m already in love with infants!! I love them!!

Next morning we take the baby downstairs to keep an eye on him while Gaia cooks. The playing mat is a great object honestly, they really can stay entertained there and even take naps when needed!

I make a point to not leave him alone all the time tho, I like being an involved parent in my sims lives. We try tummy time because I want him to learn to sit and I think this is what it takes? and let me tell you; Aspen is not a fan of tummy time lol.

I gotta say I looooove how they capture the tantrum/crying of the infants btw, its adorable and looks just like real babies a lot of the time!

After all that crying Aspen revealed his first quirck as a self-soother, it sounds adorable ❤ Also it amuses me because, as usual, he’s probably the only baby who’s gonna get to enjoy Gaia all to himself and he turns out to be independent-ish lol. Brings me memories of my Baby Boom.

He later revealed to be a happy spitter too, but his third quirck remained locked until much later for some reason.

While Aspen is taking a nap Gaia goes back to painting and manages to earn a fame star! I usually have my sims step out of the fame because it’s more comfortable to me, but hey, if she gets famous enough she may even get to have a kid with Thorne or something, and I’m curious about that possibility lol.

I definitely didn’t choose the right hair for Gaia btw lol poor Aspen is gonna be coughing hairballs into his teenage years if that’s how she carries him! I laughed a little too much when I noticed lol.

Vampires was another of the packs I got last black friday, so this was my first visit from Lilith! I randomly decided that we’re gonna be befriending Lilith!

I’m kind of playing with the idea of playing the version of the challenge were you make your matriarch immortal so she has to have the 100 kids herself so I thought if I do it, having an immortal friend could be fun and Lilith looks nice, so why not?

We introduce her to Aspen and he gains the “first visitor” milestone from it. He also was definitely not a fan of Lilith lol but he left her carry him for a while.

Aspen got his “first blowout” milestone lol that’s not something I’m very excited about, but hey, it gave us an excuse to give him a bath ❤ I’m seriously so in love with infants already ❤ they look so cute all the time!

Gaia, I don’t think that’s the most sanitary thing to do with the baby after you bathed him lol.

Gaia: “Nonsense! This way he can learn how to use the toilet early and make it easier once he’s a toddler.”

I don’t think that’s how it works lol he’s too tiny to learn about it.

Aspen: *again basically eating his mom’s hair*

Lol seriously if I didn’t like Gaia’s appearece so much I would change her haircut because that’s been bothering me.

But anyways, since Gaia is gonna need another donor once Geoffrey’s baby is born, we took another trip to the recreational center and took Aspen with us. Gaia only has one baby and one in the oven and already looks miserable btw lol.

While waiting for people to show up we tried more tummy time with Aspen, it’s slow going but we’re making progress.

It’s good to have progress in something, because for some reason we had absolutely no luck meting people this time around.

She tried to flirt with this guy on the left but turns out the have awful compatibility and he didn’t take it nice lol And then back home she tried her luck with Marcus Flex who was hanging around, and while he accepted the flirts nicely, he left minutes later without much progress.

Maybe the game is trying to tell me I should let a little more time between babies so I don’t end up with a thousand infants at the same time lol I gotta say that as much as toddlers are a handful, this update has made me realize how independent they trully are! Infants really need you to do everything for them, and it’s being a lot more challenging to be a single parent because of that!

See? No “dragging out food from the fridge so they take it”, no “putting them to sleep and knowing they can entertain themselves if the wake up earlier than you”, literally having to be around them all day! it’s so realistic lol I love it!

That night I ran into my first random bug lol Gaia was taking Aspen upstairs to his crib when she had an energy failure on the stairs, but since she was carrying him she just reseted and the baby got stuck on the stairs because she couldn’t take him again lol I had to teleport him upstairs so she could put him to bed.

This night is really hard on Gaia. She still can’t go to sleep because she also needed to use the toilet because of pregnancy bladder, but the toilet had broken down earlier and she hadn’t come around to fix it since Aspen needed attention.

She ends up wetting herself while fixing it, so we have to add a shower to her nighttime routine for today. Seriously not a good night for our matriarch.

Aspen on thr other hand, is having the time of his life just hanging around upstairs lol I have no idea why he wasn’t in the crib in the end, but he was enjoying playing with the sheep plushie for a while and then got around to earning the “foot in mouth” milestone. Look at how cute he looks!!

It was sunday next day and Geoffrey called to invite us to the Flea market. I always love this festival, and I needed Gaia to take some time to herself and to meet more men, so we went!

While she did manage to meet some new people and bought a better couch for the house, still no look with lining up next donnor, and when she goes into labor in the middle of the festival I realize we’re definitely gonna be waiting a little in between baby 2 and 3 lol.

Since Geoffrey was already with us at the festival. he offered to take Gaia to the hospital, and he actually got the pre-parental panic unlike Knox! That’s Geoffrey 2, Knox 0 lol

He left inmediatly after panicking, but that was expected.

Gaia was extremely calm about the whole ordeal too lol her priority was cleaning some dirty dishes she had in her inventory for some reason.

Gaia: “I mean, if I may be doing this a hundred times, I think getting stressed about it would get counterproductive, very quickly.”

Yeah, that’s right honestly. I still think it’s weird she’s so optimistic and calm lol but I like it. She’s definitely gonna need it.

Anyways, birth goes without a hitch, and we know have a baby girl too!! Everyone, meet Clover! Again following the redeeming names trend, hers is after the character in volume 7 of RWBY who I really can’t stand lol Like..he’s cool but… no, I don’t like him.

This was the point I realized I could change babies outfits! I know they don’t stay babies for a long time, but I love having a little more customization anyway!

Aspen appeared here when we came back from the hospital for some reason, so I sent Gaia to help him practice sitting up thinking she would move him somewhere else: she didn’t lol.

On the plus side, he looks so adorable sitting ❤

I had to tell her to move him so they stopped clipping through the walls lol and our little infant finally learn to sit! Know we can get into trying some new baby foods at the high chair, something I really wanted to do!

But it will have to wait because it was time to sleep for the little boy lol I took this picture to say that it’s adorable how they roll around the crib while sleeping once they reached that milestones! I wish older sims would move while sleeping like in sims two!

This is the first time in a while that Gaia managed to paint something lol she’s at that point on her aspiration where she needs excellent paintings, but her needs are making it a little dificult, but we keep trying to keep money flowing. This makes me realize this is why I usually start my single parents on writting instead of painting, so even if I can’t produce for a while money keeps coming in lol oh, well, I guess this will teach me.

Next morning we start having Aspen try new foods, and this is were his last quirck jumped up: apparently he’s a picky eater? I find it hard to believe because we gave him three foods: Banana slices, sweet potato puree and cinnamon cereal, and he only disliked one of them, he loved the other two lol still, he apparently is picky.

I didn’t expected that infants get all dirty after eating btw, and I’m melting with how cute it is!!

It also gave us an excuse to give him a bubble bath, and Gaia got this cute moodlet! She gets me, baby bathtime is the best!

Wooow, we have pretty high bills even with the water thing the lot comes with helping us out, better get to work on making some extra money!

Although I gotta say I think parrt of the power bills are because I forgot to set the lights to automatic for like… the whole week lol I really need to get back into playing to remember this stuff.

And we finally reached the point I was waiting for to end this first update! It’s Clover’s birthday!

Hahahahahaha I still laugh like a maniac everytime I see this picture Loooooool I just love it, poor girl looks traumatized lol!!! I actually took a better picture, but this one it’s so funny I had to use it!

Anyways, after I stopped laughing lol Clover is a totally adorable girl ❤ I love her already. She got the Cautious trait, so next time we will see if that makes her harder to take care of than Aspen. We should also be seeing Aspen turn into a toddler and, depending on how luck goes for Gaia, we should be having more babies joining lol.

For now I hope you’re having fun with us and this crazy baby idea~ I’m really loving infants and I hope you are too! Remember to have fun simming, and see ya soon!

2 responses to “Chapter 1: Infants are here!”

  1. I love Aspen and Clover, the Sims 4 is great 👍 I usually play the Sims2 though. I wonder what the Sims5 will be like?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I love both of them too! I used to play a lot of Sims2 back in the day, but since my computer wasn’t so good to handle them I ended up leaving them alone until 4 came out and it’s what I play the most now lol I do want to check back on sims 2, I just need to make myself some time for it

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started